Yosemite breaks most stuff I use!

Screen Shot 2014-07-29 at 19.41.06Apple fanboy that I am, I decided to give the Yosemite beta a try, being under the false impression that it was easy to revert back to Mavericks if the beta broke stuff. Turns out it breaks most of the stuff I use every day, and it’s a flippin’ flaff to get rid of, so I’m kinda stuck with it.

The main hurdles I’ve hit so far…

  1. Breaks Photoshop. Even breaks the Photoshop installer! (Which admittedly was broken anyway, but not this bad.) I think it took me around half a dozen installs, uninstalls and re-installs of the installer before it would finally install Photoshop for me. As far as Photoshop itself is concerned, brushes, dodge/burn, clone, patch, all are broken. They work, but you don’t see what you’re doing while you’re doing it, only after you finish and click somewhere outside the pic. It’s tolerable for small tasks, but for major editing it’s a royal pain.
  2. I use a fantastic Photoshop filter plug-in called Perfect Effects. Not anymore. For some reason, this free plug-in needs to have its licence authorised with the publisher every time you use it. That usually happens in the background so you don’t notice it, but under Yosemite the authorisation app doesn’t work. You get an error message and your free plug-in closes because it can’t validate its licence. Insane. (The publisher has a fix available on their website. You can’t install the fix under Yosemite. Doh!)
  3. Tomb Raider and Metro: Last Light, the two games I’m playing on Steam at the moment. Both work fine. And then they don’t. Sometimes if you reboot they work again, sometimes they don’t. There’s no apparent logic to it.

Screen Shot 2014-07-29 at 19.40.13As for general impressions of Yosemite… uh it’s okay, I suppose. The flat icons that look fine on an iPhone don’t look good on a modern desktop operating system. They look amateurish rather than elegant. And the Mac’s lovely off-white startup screen with the Apple logo has been replaced by a black screen with the Apple logo and a progress bar. Yuk! Very Windows.

Bottom line, if it was easy to go back to Mavericks then I would, just to get Photoshop working properly again. But faced with all the hassle that entails, I’m choosing to stick with Yosemite. It’s just a lot more “beta” than I expected, so I hope the first update brings some serious improvements.

Leave a Reply

