New job, new blog

It has been a few years since I last ran a photography blog. I used to enjoy it, but I was a freelancer so photography became much more about business and less about making nice pictures. The less inspired I was by work, the less enthusiasm I had for writing about it.

All of that changed about a week ago when I was offered a staff job at Scottish Provincial Press, working on two city newspapers (the Inverness Courier and the Highland News) and a range of supplements and magazines including Highland Life and Executive. I’ve been working there for the past few months, but now I’m properly on the team.

I never intended to be a freelancer. It might be an overstatement to say that I hated it, but I certainly didn’t enjoy it. I loved the work but I hated the business side of things, all the phone calls and emails trying to pitch stories, racing to accident scenes, knowing that I’d be able to pay rent that month if someone had died. I was little more than a glorified ambulance chaser, albeit one who didn’t actually chase ambulances.

Working staff on a newspaper team was always my goal, and after 10 years I thought it was never going to happen. I was all set to give up on photography. I had a couple of other career paths lined up. And then this opportunity came along. I grabbed it with both hands, and immediately felt that rush of adrenaline that I used to get a decade ago. I was bouncing in to jobs again, excited, not just taking ‘functional’ photos but actually having fun.

And so I’m running a blog again. Like the last one, this will mostly be about technique. I love the whole Strobist mentality of guerrilla photography, using minimal equipment to produce maximum quality. But I’ll no doubt write about other things that interest me, especially Apple products, movies, a few games (currently playing Sim City), and maybe even my #1 hobby of Magic: The Gathering. Hopefully there will be something of interest to you. Maybe I won’t hit the 30,000 monthly visitors my last photography blog had, but that’s not the point. The point is that I’m finally doing the job I love, and I’m finally doing it in the right way and for the right reasons, and this is where I’ll be writing about it.

Have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

